Thursday, January 26, 2006

Wayne Gretzky Autograph?


This eBay seller was sent to us by one of our readers. It is being offered by auctions1800 on eBay and the signature is questionable for the following reasons:

1. Wayne Gretzky has his own autograph company and all autographs are authenticated by his company only. He is very careful about how many autographs hit the market every year and limits his signings.

2. This signature is very sloppy and does not look like Gretzky.

3. It is authenticated by Platinum Sports who is virtually unknown.

4. The seller puts the following disclaimer on all auctions: AUCTIONS1800 DOES NOT OWN AND IS NOT SELLING THESE GOODS, BUT IS MERELY ACTING AS A BAILEE ON BEHALF OF THE SELLER TO FACILITATE THE SALE OF THE GOODS BY HOLDING THE GOODS UNTIL SUCH TIME AS A SALE IS COMPLETED AND THE GOODS ARE SHIPPED TO THE BUYER

As always, we welcome this seller to comment on this blog to explain their side of things.

8 Comments:

At 11:21 AM , cosmicgallery said...

This seller was advised that it is selling phoney autographs and continues to do so. Items it is running now bearing Platinum Sports are also obviously frauds. auctions1800 has raked in thousands of dollars from unknowing collectors who take the phrase''bid with confidence''as genuine committment to legitimacy in a autograph.

 
At 2:40 PM , Anonymous said...

Here is a seller on ebay who has many questionable items. Questionable is a good word for these autograps they looed lie a child signed them.
http://cgi.ebay.com/VINCE-CARTER-AUTOGRAPHED-BASKETBALL_W0QQitemZ8755306931QQcategoryZ27268QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

 
At 10:39 PM , Anonymous said...

I do not know who to send this to, but someone is selling Lleyton Hewitt fakes. If you take a look at this auto and compare it to the ones Hewitt did for the Netpro International Series, you will laugh your heads off. Hewitt has since changed is signature and I find it appalling that someone would attempt to bring back the signature when it isn't even close to what it is. Links;

http://cgi.ebay.com/SIGNED-LLEYTON-HEWITT-AUSTRALIAN-NEWSPAPER_W0QQitemZ8753834814QQcategoryZ1226QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.com/SIGNED-LLEYTON-HEWITT-AUSTRALIAN-NEWSPAPER-2_W0QQitemZ8753836411QQcategoryZ1226QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

 
At 12:45 PM , cosmicgallery said...

fakes and bad ones at that. you are right. i have not recieved a response from this yahoo yet,but very bad forger indeed. i will keep on his or thier butts.

 
At 3:11 PM , BBlefty21 said...

I wanted to know if anyone is interested in a autograph 8 by 10 of ted williams. Im trying to sell. Its authenticated by GAI. #'s match. REALLY NICE auto. If any is interested email me at BBlefty21@aol.com

 
At 7:41 PM , Anonymous said...

Cool

 
At 12:34 AM , midwestgrapher said...

HELLO, I GET SO SICK AND TIRED OF HEARING...."MR. CELEBRITY" DOESNT SIGN ANYTHING BECAUSE HE OR SHE HAS A CONTRACT. I GOT GRETZKY IN PERSON 5 TIMES THIS YEAR, THE IN PERSON SIGS DONT LOOK NEAR AS NICE AS THE $1000 SIGS YOU BUY ON HIS SITE BUT HE DOES SIGN. AND SO DOES TIGER WOODS, UD CONTRACT OR NOT THE GUY SIGNS. HE IS PICKY ABOUT WHAT HE SIGNS....BUT HE SIGNS

 
At 11:12 AM , Anonymous said...

UNLESS YOU GET THE AUTOGRAPH YOURSELF YOU DO NOT KNOW 100% IF SIGNATURE IS REAL OR NOT. ALSO LIKE WHAT YOU BUY AND ENJOY. IT IS A SHAME BUT THERE ARE TOO MANY AUTOGRAPHS ON THE MARKET NOW ANYWAY.

 

Post a Comment

<< Home

DISCLAIMER: Opinions of our readers do not neccesarily reflect the opinions of ALLAuthentic Corporation. If you would like to post on this blog, please stick to the facts. Deragatory comments about any company or indiviual are not permitted.

HOME | Sports Memorabilia & Collectibles | Custom Jersey Framing | Time Management