Thursday, March 31, 2005

Fake Kobe Bryant Autograph

We recently found a lot of questionable autographs on a site called onlinesportsautographs.com including this "Kobe" signed basketball.

The description states that this ball comes with a certificate of authenticity (from their company) and a serial numbered hologram. Kobe is signed exclusively with www.upperdeck.com and there are still some PSA-DNA autographs out there that are legitimate.

We invite this seller to submit proof where this ball was signed and we will update that information on this blog.




Now here is a real Kobe autograph from Upper Deck:



Do you see the difference in the "K"?

A lot of sellers will use the reasoning that Kobe has had different autographs throughout his career, which is true, so when was this ball signed? The seller doesn't say. Why is there no UDA or PSA authentication? The seller would probably say that it was signed outside the locker room or the arena after a game...which is normally false (however there are some people who make a living doing this but they don't have tons of inventory sitting around because athletes won't sign a ton of items for one person outside the arena).

Also, players like Kobe know that Upper Deck sells his signed basketballs for $499 each so he usually will refuse to sign basketballs or jerseys outside of his contract.

Finally, if this were a true Kobe autograph, why would the seller list a retail price of $149 for the ball when it would be worth way more than that? Is it because they are generous and want to give you a good deal?

Probably not.

Monday, March 14, 2005

Seller Using Fake COA's

We were contacted by a person who purchased a signed Wilt Chamberlain 3X5 card on eBay from baseballscout68 because the item supposedly came with a COA from ALLAuthentic.com. The customer sent us this fax of the COA he recieved.


This is clearly NOT a COA from ALLAuthentic.com Sports Memorabilia & Equipment

We contacted this seller and they replied promptly and said they would stop selling items with this COA. It appears that the seller purchased these items with the fake COA's from another company claiming to be All Authentic Plus.

Credit should be give to baseballscout68 for taking care of this matter promptly.

To the best of our knowledge, there is no company called All Authentic Plus. If there is, they would not be able to use that name unless they could prove commercial use before ALLAuthentic.com Sports Memorabilia & Equipment.

Tuesday, March 08, 2005

Jordan, Magic, & Bird Basketball?

This auction was brought to our attention by one of our readers and we must say this ball is very suspect for many reasons.



1. The seller allsportsink does not say in the auction where this ball was signed and the COA comes from an unknown company called Quality Sports.

2. Michael Jordan only signs with Upper Deck, so the Jordan autograph would need to come with UDA Authenitcation and it does not.

3. The autographs look like they were signed all at the same time with the same pen when it is very unlikely that these three would be together signing things at the same time (Michael Jordan doesn't even participate in autograph shows).

Here is a picture of a ball Magic signed for www.allauthentic.com :



Here is a picture of a Larry Bird/Magic Johnson signed ball from Schwartz Sports who owns LarryBird.com:



Finally, here is a picture of a Jordan signed Upper Deck Authenticated ball:


You make the choice!

DISCLAIMER: Opinions of our readers do not neccesarily reflect the opinions of ALLAuthentic Corporation. If you would like to post on this blog, please stick to the facts. Deragatory comments about any company or indiviual are not permitted.

HOME | Sports Memorabilia & Collectibles | Custom Jersey Framing | Time Management